I’M GIVING UP GUILT FOR LENT

Lent is the season of penitence and many people sacrifice something as a nod toward their notion of holiness – something they might feel guilty about.  I’ve been guilty of scrupulosity, so as a Lenten discipline I’m trying to abstain.  What – you may ask – is scrupulosity?  The word comes from the Latin scrupulum, sharp stone – like a stabbing pain on the conscience.   It means ruminating about sins and it’s often a feature of obsessive-compulsive disorder.  For many it has a decidedly religious flavor, but for me scrupulosity is mostly a dysfunctional and annoying psychological habit.  Giving it up has been easier than I thought it would be. 

In my wild and callow youth, I was totally selfish.  I broke all 10 commandments and committed all of the seven deadlies (wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony) many times over – and that’s just for starters.  However, for many years now I’ve been intentionally steering toward the Light.  I started by leaning into it, then walking, occasionally striding – even running – but mostly just trying to remain quietly mindful of the magnetic force of Goodness. 

Of course I’m still flawed, so I’m not going to ignore my unkind thoughts and behaviors. I’m just going to avoid feeding them to the smouldering fire of guilt.  I will stop festishizing my shadow.  I’ve spent too much time being mesmerized by it and have been overly attached to it.  Enough already!

So in this penitential season, I am trying to gently hush that nagging voice of shame, doubt, and guilt.  I’m tuning in to the loving voice of compassion and nurturance.  It’s been there all along but was drowned out by the endless chorus of self-recriminations.  This pure and harmonious sound is creating space so that the sweet scent of Spirit can drift in.  So far, so good…

About nancyjfinleysd

I am a spiritual director/counselor who earned a Master's degree from Seattle University's School of Theology and Ministry in June 2010.
This entry was posted in attachment, guilt, humility, Kenosis, Lent, Penitence, scrupulosity, shadow, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’M GIVING UP GUILT FOR LENT

  1. Toni says:

    Like both the blog and your taking care…

  2. Ande Finley says:

    Lovely, Nancy….thanks so much for the reminder…..

  3. Lynn Salter says:

    Yeah, I needed that! Obsessing on the shadow gives it more energy than it deserves.

  4. Mary Ann says:

    “that nagging voice of shame, doubt, and guilt” is only meant to propel you to a greater state and never to defeat you. When you meet yourself and find something offensive then remember to look to the maker of you and don’t take it personally. Important and necessary are the little building blocks of a great life and All is well that ends well.
    Thank you for all your lovely blogging!

Leave a comment